Wheat Berry Salad with Citrus and Feta

Loved this salad! It was supremely delicious. I made a double batch, which should be about 5 portions. There are a couple of things I’d change for next time, some on proportions, some to cut down on time (it took nearly 1.5 hours to make).

1. Skip the Red Onion

The dressing has you saute red onions, then make a vinaigrette with them in a blender. I didn’t notice any especially exciting onion flavor coming out of the dressing, and this step was time consuming. So next time, I’ll just make a normal vinaigrette (but do make a lot, it’s nice to have a generous coating of dressing on the salad).

2. Use Faster Cooking Grains

The wheat berries took forever, maybe I had a different variety or something. I know Trader Joe’s sells quick cooking farro, so that might be nice. Quinoa as well, since it doesn’t take nearly a long.

3. More Fruit/Veggies

I think another orange might be in order, and maybe some shredded summer squash to boost nutrition.

4. Mint

I used a blend of fresh mint and parsley, which worked really well.

http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-wheat-berry-salad-with-78138

Leave a Reply

