Beans From Scratch

I wanted to give this a try (from Twelve Recipes). It is a bit of a long process, but the results were pretty good, and much better than canned. I might try the crock pot next time for the beans, so I don’t have to monitor them.

In the end, they came out a little bland, I didn’t add enough salt to the beans (taste along the way!). I like this recipe because there are a lot of options once you make a big pot of beans (thanks to the book). I ate them straight a couple of times with just some olive oil and salt.

I then made a bean gratin, which was pretty good, except I think I need to use a larger casserole dish next time. To do this, I had to make the oily crumbs from Twelve Recipes (crumb 1?), which turned out excellent and would be great to sprinkle on a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

