Broiled Salmon with Compound Butter

First time cooking salmon, first time opening that fiery broiler drawer. It turned out pretty good. I think I might have added too much oil to the cast iron skillet, and I was scared it would spray everywhere in the broiler so I had to pour some of it in the sink.

Also I needed to leave it in the broiler for the full 3 minutes, I took it out and the thermometer said it was warm enough, but the fillets were definitely not cooked enough. I wonder if that was operator error, maybe I didn’t put it in the thickest part? Wanted to err on the side of underdone, so at least I could put them back in if needed, but next time I’ll leave them in for a tad longer.

Anyways, would definitely make again. It was very fast. And making compound butter is fun and seems fancy! I made one with some leftover parsley, lemon zest and a bit of salt and it was delicious!

http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-broiled-salmon-with-baharat-butter-recipes-from-the-kitchn-207586

Leave a Reply

